Tennessee Arson Defense Attorney and Criminal Defense Lawyer Located in Knoxville, TN
Arson is one of the most serious criminal offenses a person can be charged with. Arson is defined in Tennessee as knowingly damaging any structure by means of a fire or explosion either: (1) without the consent of all persons who have a possessory, proprietary or security interest therein; or (2) with intent to destroy or damage any structure to collect insurance for the damage or destruction or for any unlawful purpose. Arson is a Class C Felony, punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. However, if an act of arson is committed at a place of worship, then the offense becomes a Class B Felony, punishable by up to 30 years imprisonment at a fine of up to $25,000. If you or anyone you know has been arrested and charged with arson it is important that you contact a skilled Tennessee arson defense attorney as soon as possible.
Arson becomes aggravated arson, a Class A Felony, when there are one or more persons present at the time the fire or explosion is set, or if any person, including firefighters and law enforcement officers suffer serious bodily injury as a result of the fire or explosion. Aggravated arson is punishable by up to 60 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $50,000.
Have you been arrested and charged with arson? Dont hesitate contact a skilled Tennessee criminal defense lawyer
There are also lesser offenses in Tennessee regarding arson, such as setting fire to personal property or real estate that is not a building or structure. This offense constitutes a Class E Felony, which is punishable by up to 6 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $3,000. A person who recklessly starts a fire on the land, building, structure or personal property of another, who starts a fire on their own land, building, structure, or personal property and recklessly allows the fire to escape and burn the property of another, or who knowingly starts an open air or unconfined fire in violation of a burning ban commits the crime of reckless burning, which constitutes a Class A Misdemeanor in Tennessee and is punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
If you have been charged with a crime in Tennessee don't trust your future in the hands of an in-experienced attorney.
If you or someone you know has been charged with an arson offense, it is critical that you obtain the assistance of an experienced attorney immediately. The attorneys at The Law Office of James A.H. Bell, P.C. have the skills, knowledge, and resources necessary to defend your case fight for your interests. Our attorneys have been successfully defending arson charges in and around the Knoxville area for decades. Additionally, our in-house private investigator conducts an independent investigation into the facts of every new case. Put our experience to work for you, and call one of our knowledgeable attorneys located in Knoxville, TN to schedule a free consultation today.